The Future Policy Award

The Future Policy Award celebrates policies that create better living conditions for current and future generations. The aim of the award is to raise global awareness for these exemplary policies and speed up policy action towards just, sustainable and peaceful societies. The Future Policy Award is the first award that celebrates policies rather than people on an international level. Each year the World Future Council chooses one topic on which policy progress is particularly urgent. 

Future Policy Award 2015

Celebrating the World's Best Laws and Policies to Secure Children's Rights

Gold Award 

Zanzibar, Tanzania - Zanzibar's Children's Act, 2011.

Silver Award

Finland - Basic Education Act, 1998.

Maryland, United States - Maryland's Environmental Literacy Standarts, 2008.

Future Policy Award 2014

Ending Violence against Women and Girls

Gold Award

Duluth, Minnesota (USA)
– Coordinated Community Response (The "Duluth Model"), 1981.

Silver Award

Burkina Faso
– Law Prohibiting Female Genital Mutilation, 1996.

Austria –Court Assistance for Victims of Violence in the Criminal Procedure and the Civil Procedure, 2006.

Vision Award

Council of Europe – Convention on Preventing and Combating Violence against Women and Domestic Violence (Istanbul Convention), 2011.

Future Policy Award 2013

Innovative Policy Solutions for Disarmament

Gold Award

Latin America and the Caribbean
Treaty for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in Latin America and the Caribbean, Treaty of Tlatelolco, 1967

Silver Award

National Programme for the Voluntary Surrender of Firearms, 2006

New Zealand
Nuclear Free Zone, 1987

Future Policy Award 2012

Protection of oceans and coasts

Gold Award

Shark Haven Act, 2009

Protected Areas Network Act, 2003

Silver Award

Marine Resources Act, 2000

Tubbataha Reefs Natural Park Act, 2010

Future Policy Award 2011

Forests for People

Gold Award

National Forest Policy, initiated in 2004

Silver Award

Community Forest Policy, initiated in 1995

Lacey Act with its amendment of 2008


Future Policy Award 2010

The World's best Biodiversity Policies

Gold Award

Costa Rica
Biodiversity Law, 1998                   

Silver Award

Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Act, 1975, and Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act, 1999

Future Policy Award 2009

Exemplary Policies for Food Security

Gold Award

Belo Horizonte
Food Security
Programme, 1993          

Silver Award

Tuscan Regional Law, 2004

Urban Agriculture

About the Award

The Future Policy Award is designed to alert policymakers and the public to the importance of best practice in lawmaking and highlight outstanding examples of regulatory vision. The Award draws attention to existing sustainable policies and demonstrates that when political will is asserted, positive change can happen.

Celebrating visionary policies raises public awareness, encourages rapid learning and speeds up policy action towards just, sustainable and peaceful societies. That is why each year the World Future Council calls for the nomination of policies that are inspiring, innovative and influential. 

Support our work!

Stay in touch!

 Subscribe to our newsletter

Learn more!