Celebrating Innovative Policy Solutions for Ending Violence Against Women and Girls

Our Future Policy Award is the first award that celebrates policies rather than people on an international level. The 2014 Future Policy Award will celebrate policies that address one of the most pervasive human rights abuses that humanity is facing: violence against women and girls.
One in three women worldwide will suffer a form of violence in their lifetime. By restricting women’s choices and limiting their ability to act, the continuation of violence against women is not only an unacceptable human rights violation - it also has serious consequences for economic development and poverty reduction. It undermines the achievement of other internationally agreed development goals, including education, child health, maternal mortality, HIV/AIDS and overall sustainable development. Policy makers from a diversity of sectors urgently need to address the multiple dimensions of this global scourge, and solutions will include preventive measures against violence, protection of victims/survivors, provision of support services and prosecution of perpetrators.


Experts were invited to nominate best policies on ending violence against women and girls. The policies (they could be laws, regulations, standards, action plans) could originate in different policy arenas. The nominated laws and policies are local, national, regional or international in nature, and should be  in existence for long enough to prove effective implementation. 


  1. Afghanistan – Law on Elimination of Violence against Women, 2009.
  2. Australia – National Plan to Reduce Violence against Women and their Children, 2010.
  3. Austria – Court Assistance for Victims of Violence in the Criminal Procedure and the Civil Procedure, 2006.
  4. Belgium – National Action Plan to Combat Intimate Partner Violence and Other Forms of Domestic Violence (nominated for its provisions on FGM/C), 2010.
  5. Bolivia – Law against Political Harassment and Violence against Women, 2012.
  6. Brazil – Brazilian Federal Law 11340, also known as “Maria da Penha Law”, 2006.
  7. Bulgaria – Law on Protection against Domestic Violence, 2005.
  8. Burkina Faso – Law Prohibiting Female Genital Mutilation, 1996.
  9. New Zealand – Establishment of a Task Force for Action on Violence within Families, 2005.
  10. Pakistan – Law on Protection of Women against Harassment in the Workplace, 2010.
  11. Sierra Leone – Local Courts Act, 2011.
  12. Sierra Leone – Sexual Offences Act, 2012.
  13. South Africa – National Strategic Plan on HIV, STIs and TB 2012–2016, 2011.
  14. South Africa – Criminal Law (Sexual Offences and Related Matters) Amendment Act, No. 32, 2007.
  15. Spain – Organic Act 1/2004 of 28 December on Integrated Protection Measures against Gender Violence, 2004.
  16. Sweden – Act Prohibiting the Purchase of Sex, 1999.
  17. The Philippines – Anti Violence Against Women and Their Children Act, 2004.
  18. United Kingdom – Crown Prosecution Service’s Violence Against Women and Girls Strategy, April 2008.

  19. Americas – The Inter-American Convention on the Prevention, Punishment, and Eradication of Violence against Women (Convention of Belém do Pará), 1994.
  20. Council of Europe – Convention on Preventing and Combating Violence against Women and Domestic Violence (Istanbul Convention), 2014.

    Local/State level

  21. United Kingdom, London – Mayor’s Office for Policing and Crime Violence Against Women and Girls Strategies 2010-13 and 2013-17.
  22. United States, Duluth, Minnesota – Coordinated Community Response (The "Duluth Model"), 1981.
  23. United States, Illinois (state) – Predator Accountability Act (Civil Liabilities), 2006.
  24. United States, New York (state) – Vacating Convictions for Trafficked Persons Act, 2010.


  25. United Nations – Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court, 2002.

Jury Members

  • Dr. Marie-Claire Cordonier Segger, UK, Canada, Senior Director, Centre for International Sustainable Development Law (CISDL), Affiliated Fellow, LCIL, University of Cambridge and World Future Councillor

  • Brigitte Filion, France, Switzerland, Programme Officer, Violence Against Women, Gender Partnership Programme, Inter-Parliamentary Union

  • Riet Groenen, Netherlands, USA, Chief, Ending Violence Against Women Section, UN Women, the United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women

  • Hibaaq Osman, Somalia, Egypt, Founder and CEO, El Karama

  • Dean Peacock, South Africa, Executive Director/Co-Founder, SONKE Gender Justice Network

  • Miriam Roache, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Vice Chair, Committee of Experts of the Follow-up Mechanism to the Convention of Belém do Pará

  • Cheryl Thomas, USA, International Violence Against Women Legal Expert, Advisor to International Organisations and Governments

  • Jakob von Uexküll, Sweden, Germany, Founder, World Future Council and Right Livelihood Award

  • Evalyn Ursua, Philippines, Human Rights Lawyer and former Senior Lecturer, University of the Philippines College of Law

Announcement of the Winners and Award Ceremony

The winning laws and policies will be announced by the World Future Council in October 2014, in partnership with the Inter-Parliamentary Union and UN Women, the United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women. The award ceremony will be held at the Inter-Parliamentary Union's 131st Assembly in Geneva, a gathering of 1200 delegates from 170 Parliaments around the world.

Click here for further information on the Future Policy Award.


Karin Heisecke and Sarah Werner
Phone: +49 (0)40 3070914 26

Support our work!

Stay in touch!

 Subscribe to our newsletter

Learn more!