Nominations of the Future Policy Award 2013

National Policies

1. Albania– Action Plan for the Destruction of Surplus Munitions in the Albanian Armed Forces, 2009.

2. Argentina– National Programme for the Voluntary Surrender of Firearms, 2006.

3. Australia– National Agreement on Firearms, 1996.

4. Austria– Austrian Federal Constitutional Law on Nuclear Free Austria, 1999.

5. Austria– Federal Act on the Prohibition of Cluster Munitions, 2008.

6. Belgium– Law on Anti-personnel Mines, 1995.

7. Belgium– Law regulating Economic and Individual Activities with Weapons, 2006.

8. Brazil– Statute of Disarmament, Law No. 10,826/03, 2003.

9. Costa Rica– Abolition of the Army, Article 12 of the Constitution, 1949.

10. Iceland– Plan of Action for the Implementation of United Nations Security Council Resolution 1325, 2008.

11. Mongolia– Law of Mongolia on its Nuclear Weapon Free Status, 2000.

12. Mozambique and South Africa–  Agreement between the Government of the Republic of Mozambique and the Government of the Republic of South Africa in Respect of Cooperation and Mutual Assistance in the field of Crime Combating, 1995.

13. New Zealand– New Zealand Nuclear Free Zone, Disarmament, and Arms Control Act, 1987.

14. Norway– Ethical Guidelines for the Norwegian Government Pension Fund, 2004.

15. Norway– Act relating to the implementation of the Convention on Cluster Munitions in Norwegian law, No. 28, 2008.

16. Philippines– Nuclear Free Amendment to the Philippine Constitution (Article 2, Section 8), 1987.

17. South Africa– National Policy on Non-Proliferation, Disarmament and Arms Control, 1993.

18. United States of America– Assembled Chemical Weapons Assessment (ACWA) Program, 1996.

19. United States of America– Cooperative Threat Reduction Program, 1991.

Regional Policies 

20. Africa– African Nuclear Weapon Free Zone Treaty, Treaty of Pelindaba, 1996.

21. Central Asia– Treaty on a Nuclear Weapon Free Zone in Central Asia, Treaty of Semipalatinsk, 2006.

22. Latin America– Treaty for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in Latin America and the Caribbean, Treaty of Tlatelolco, 1967.

23. Southeast Asia– Treaty on the Southeast Asia Nuclear Weapon Free Zone, Bangkok Treaty, 1995.

24. South Pacific– South Pacific Nuclear Free Zone Treaty, Treaty of Rarotonga, 1985.

25. West Africa– ECOWAS Convention on Small Arms and Light Weapons, their Ammunition and other related Materials, 2006.

You can find here a list of the nominated policies in PDF format.

Selection and Evaluation Procedure

An extensive research process on the 25 nominated policies involved interviews with nationally based policy-makers, civil society organizations and academics. Impacts on systemic aspects such as the sustainable use of resources, equity, poverty eradication and good governance, were taken into account, as well as aspects that reflect the World Future Council’s holistic and integrated perspective. The policies’ performance against the adopted Seven Future Justice Policy Principles (a summary of which may be found here) was also checked. A jury of notable experts evaluated the nominated policies according to their positive impact on sustainable development and human security goals.



Support our work!

Stay in touch!

 Subscribe to our newsletter

Learn more!